About the project

Whether it is about public spaces, natural resources or information and knowledge, more and more citizens are organizing themself to manage “commons”. Such initiatives are diverse, from urban commons charters to initiatives around free software, for example.

In 2018, la 27e Région started a new program which is questionning the notion of ‘commons” with several partners: POP, Savoircom1, Esopa Productions, the cities of Brest and Grenoble with the objective of giving it a European dimension. Since then, our project has been selected within the framework of the EU Erasmus + program, which will allow us, during 2 years, to lead together various learning trips in Europe on the topic! Erasmus + supports adult mobility and informal learning, with the aim of creating European professional communities, sharing practices, developing new skills, and so on.

The commons movement refers to initiatives concerning material (forest, water, etc.) or immaterial resources (knowledge, creation, etc.) shared between a community of users who define themselves the management, the use, the enrichment of their resource; it relies on a set of collaborative and contributive practices. This movement is now experiencing an expansion in Europe. Such initiatives are often carried out by private organizations (associations, informal communities, etc.). Although they often emerge without elected representatives and public administrations, they must nevertheless find support and legitimacy with them to continue. A growing number of local governments are also seeking to develop approaches around the commons.

How, then, does this notion come to question public action? What is the role of local governments, administrations and elected officials in this context of governance shared with citizens? How to equip public actors to enable them to design and implement public policies and services that take these concepts into account, in a renewed framework of governance? These are the questions we would like to explore with our partners.

The preparation of the application allowed us to identify inspiring projects in Europe. You can find, in this article, some examples of initiatives on the side of civil society and parapublic organizations.. or you can explore this website to learn more about our project!

A propos du projet

Comment les communs influencent-il l’action publique en Europe ?

Qu’il s’agisse d’espaces publics, de ressources naturelles ou d’informations et de savoirs, des citoyens de plus en plus nombreux s’organisent aujourd’hui pour gérer des communs. Ces initiatives  sont diverses, des chartes des communs urbains aux initiatives autours des logiciels libres par exemple.

En 2018, La 27e Région ouvre un programme exploratoire sur les communs et l’action publique, ce questionnement avec plusieurs partenaires: POP, Savoircom1, Esopa Productions, les villes de Brest et de Grenoble avec l’objectif de lui donner une dimension européenne. Depuis, notre projet a été sélectionné dans le cadre du programme Erasmus + de l’Union Européenne, qui nous permettra, pendant 2 ans, de mener ensemble différents voyages d’exploration en Europe sur le sujet ! Ce programme soutien en effet la mobilité des adultes et l’apprentissage informel, avec pour objectif l’émergence de communautés professionnelles européennes, le partage des pratiques, le développement de nouvelles compétences, etc.

Le mouvement des communs désigne les initiatives concernant des ressources matérielles (forêt, eaux, etc.) ou immatérielles (connaissance, création, etc.) partagées entre une communauté d’utilisateurs qui déterminent eux-mêmes les modalités régulant la gestion, l’usage, l’enrichissement de leur ressource ; il repose sur un ensemble de pratiques collaboratives et contributives. Ce mouvement connaît aujourd’hui un essor en Europe. De telles initiatives sont souvent menées par des organisations privées (associations, communautés informelles, etc.) ; si elles émergent fréquemment sans les élus et les administrations publiques, elles doivent cependant trouver soutien et légitimité auprès de ceux-ci pour perdurer. Un nombre croissant de gouvernements locaux cherchent d’autre part à développer des démarches autour des communs.

Comment, donc, cette notion vient-elle interroger l’action publique? Quel est le rôle des collectivités, des administrations et des élus dans ce contexte de gouvernance partagée avec les citoyens ?  Comment équiper les acteurs publics pour leur permettre de concevoir et mettre en œuvre des politiques et services publics prenant en compte ces notions, dans un cadre renouvelé de gouvernance? Telles sont les questions que nous aimerions explorer avec nos partenaires.

La préparation de la candidature nous a permis d’identifier des projets inspirants en Europe, relatés sur ce billet de blog, du coté des initiatives de la société civile et des organisations parapubliques, et du coté des gouvernements locaux qui s’emparent de la question.